Skip to content

The UK transition: Brexit guidance for employees, employers & businesses

The transition period has ended and the UK has left the EU customs union and single market and now enjoys a zero tariffs, zero quotas relationship with the EU as an independent trading nation.

Following the signing of the UK – EU Free Trade Agreement, there are new rules for businesses which came into force on 1 January 2021 which require immediate action. Your business needs to act now to comply with these new rules. If you do not take action, there is a risk your business operations will be interrupted.

Photo UK and EU flags superimposed over London scenescape

These documents cover actions that businesses must take to ensure they are compliant with the new rules which have come into force. Part A provides an overview of key actions for businesses as well as supporting guidance, helpline numbers and FAQs. Part B lists the top five actions for businesses in each of the following sectors: Aerospace, automotive, chemicals, construction, consumer goods, electronics and machinery, life sciences, metals and materials, professional business services and retail.

You should visit gov.uk/transition where you can use the checker tool to quickly identify the actions that your business needs to take. The checker tool will ask you questions about your business and provide all the information you need to be aware of such as new rules on:

You can help prepare your businesses for the new rules by using a number of support mechanisms provided by the Government:

  • Sign up to receive updates on the specific actions you need to take once you’ve used the checker tool at gov.uk/transition
  • Sign up to receive the regular Business Readiness Transition Bulletin – an email newsletter providing information on major announcements and recently published guidance
  • A £20 million SME Brexit Support Fund from the Government is now available to help smaller businesses with changes to trade rules with the EU.

Your login details have been used by another user or machine. Login details can only be used once at any one time so you have therefore automatically been logged out. Please contact your sites administrator if you believe this other user or machine has unauthorised access.